Next Post

More on Refugee Week – Manchester Archives publish this fascinating and moving account – follow Refugee X on the blog or on Twitter @mcrarchives

5.5.1939

We hope to leave Germany as soon as possible. Our case is being handled by the Jewish Refugee Committee in Manchester, England, our guarantor wrote to quicken the process. I was yesterday with the Gestapo and got instructions for immediate emigration, otherwise it would arise great difficulties for me. Our departure from Germany now being a matter of life and death, my next limit is May 21, by which time we must have left Germany otherwise I will certainly be arrested. There is great tragedy that my wife this angel in human shape and the children’s grandmother had to become victims of the Nazis.

21.05.1939

I have sent to the committee my reference which will hopefully speed our departure from Germany. ‘His absolute reliability as a man made him a colleague to be used in all places and for independent work… I wish him the very best for the…

View original post 220 more words

  1. Leave a comment

What do you think?

